What are typically maintenance costs for compact tractor?

/ What are typically maintenance costs for compact tractor? #1  

GWood627

Tractor
MF1643 Power Shuttle
Just looking to get an idea of maintenance costs for a Massey ferguson MF1635 new. I'd rather know upfront and be prepared then to get zinged. I had a 40" RV and filters-fluids with labor ran me about $500.00 per year. I'm no ace mechanic, or any for that matter, but do most of you guys change your own fluids and filters every year? :newhere:

/ What are typically maintenance costs for compact tractor? #2  
Welcome to this site!

Proper maintenance costs, up front, prevent expensive repair costs, down the road.

If you look at the Operator Manual for that tractor, it will instruct you on engine lube, hydraulic oil, filters for engine lube, hydraulic, fuel and air service frequency required. Add to that grease for FEL pins and anything on the tractor frame that needs grease or lube (front axle for instance in the case of 4WD).

Notch in the thumb costs for a mid sized tractor, with the best maintenance care, excluding labor would be $300 per year, +/-. Double that if you have the dealer service it and add 10 percent if you need to pay to have it hauled to the dealer shop.

One aspect of maintenance is checking bolts/nuts/linkage for "stuff". Having a torque wrench to check loader frame bolts and wheel nuts is invaluable. Harbor Freight, which I am sad to recommend, has a 0-200 torque wrench for less than fifty dollars. Check your filter prices with your dealer and double check the value at Messick's | Dealer for New Holland, Case IH, Kubota, Cub Cadet and More | Online Parts, Sales & Service. and don't cheap up on the engine oil, hydraulic fluid or grease.

Auto manufacturers try to sell vehicles that need little to no maintenance but their machines have a limited life. Tractors are manufactured to REQUIRE certain reasonable and regular maintenance, but if serviced, will last a lifetime.