Why use wire or stick?

/ Why use wire or stick? #1  

MoArk Willy

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota B2320
I have both welders, like many if not most here.
What makes you decide to use your stick welder or your wire feed?
When you decide to turn it on and put on your helmet......which machine fits the bill?
I'm fairly new to welding and I admit my wire feed welds usually look better than the stick.

But the DC stick isn't that bad and I have done a lot with it.

So what is your preference and why?
If you had to have only one...which would it be?

/ Why use wire or stick? #2  
Based on my opinion the advantages to stick is much longer leads available. Works much better on dirty metal. Which is important for doing repair work when proper grinding isn’t possible. Works better in the wind. Is stronger than a smaller mig machine can do. Advantages to the wire machine. Much faster. Easier. Fills gaps better, and it’s a lot easier to tack a delicate setup together with. All of the above is based on thicker metal. For thin metal the wire welder wins hands down. The mig seems to arc burn my skin a lot worse but that could be avoided if I wasn’t a t shirt welder.

/ Why use wire or stick? #3  
Limiting myself to ONE machine :

If all I did was fabrication , MIG

If did mostly farm repair then SMAW (stick)

But then of course with the three in one inverter machines you can have it all.

/ Why use wire or stick? #4  
I prefer filler rod and TIG myself but with TIG, there is a steep learning curve. MIG is electric gluegun welding and SMAW is close with slag. I 'fell' into TIG because when I started welding many years ago, it was with a gas axe and coat hangers for filler rod. Only difference between that (gas axe and coat hangers) and TIG is you keep the filler rod in the gas envelope. TIG is 2 handed welding, something I got proficient at, at a young age (back when a Lincoln Buzz Box was high tech)....:D

Still have mine somewhere in the shop btw.