King Kutter Quality

/ King Kutter Quality #51  
In my opinion: KK is the most bang you can get for the buck!

That sounds reasonable, there is always a curve of diminishing returns, where spending more doesn't get you much unless
the job requires it. I'm going to make some hills tomorrow with a 800 dollar ETA hiller/cultivator, not a 8000 dollar Sunflower...
I'm a play farmer too, but getting more serious each year.

If you earn your living with your implements, likely either you would have to be fairly gentle with KK or go up one level of beefiness to begin with. Lots of exceptions to it but I like looking at the weight of the implement. And for sure country of origin of the gearbox if it has one.
And I would take the hp rating of a foreign made gearbox and cut the power to it in half. Just don't overpower the implement. Stall first, bend and blow up later.

There's a shoe for every foot. And most of us are trying to hunt top value, sometimes in different price ranges, but still top value.
I saved every penny of my retirement and like you Fried I want the most bang for the buck too. I compare TSC, Agrisupply's brands, King Cutter and ETA's products all the time.

I always look for silver linings. I'm sorry sir that your backblade bent into a pretzel but just think, our product protected your valuable three point lift arms from bending. ;) And when your gearbox exploded out the side, the chunks did not come forward at your tractor, just as designed. Gosh, that's great!

/ King Kutter Quality #52  
I'm surprised the OP is looking for anything from the manufacture...lets see...older rusting used implement that we have no clue how it was used nor how it came new. The jig could have been off or things got twisted in previous use at any rate the OP bought it as is where is and has to accept responsibility for buying it regardless.