2014 Mahindra 3616 Shuttle Intermittent Starting Problems

/ 2014 Mahindra 3616 Shuttle Intermittent Starting Problems #1  

Dirtrider357

Tractor
Mahindra 3616 Shuttle
Hello all,
I am new to the forum and also new to Mahindra tractors but I am a mechanic by trade and have worked on several Kubota, J/D, Massey tractors over time. My problem is with the 2014 Mahindra 3616 Shuttle that I have. When I go to start it, it seems like there might be a dead spot in the starter motor but the local dealership said a new starter is up near $1000.00 and they've never seen one go bad. What happens is that it will intermittently click sometimes and I need to keep bumping the key to get it to finally start. At first I took the neutral safety switch (mounted on forward/reverse handle) completely out of the system and it seemed to work fine with the wires directly connected bypassing the switch. I bought a switch and replaced it... same problem. I have cleaned/checked the battery and terminals, checked/cleaned all my connections at the ignition switch, neutral safety switch, starter, etc. I have removed the starter and bench tested it and it tests perfect on the bench. Also if I disconnect the signal wire from the starter mounted solenoid and hook in a remote starter switch to the battery it works fine every time. I have checked voltage at the signal wire when the no crank/clicking occurs and I'm getting slightly below battery voltage and I am also getting voltage through the solenoid to the starter motor itself....