Budget Restoration / Modernization of a 1953 JD 40

/ Budget Restoration / Modernization of a 1953 JD 40 #1  

Millsonwheels

Bronze Member
Well Ive been searching for a project or fun tractor for quite some time now and I found this model at a local consignment auction. It is a 1953 John Deere 40 s (standard). As I am still a college student on a budget I will show my current expenditures on this project and will hopefully in the end have a good looking and usable machine.

Here goes:
Well the whole day of the auction this tractor could be seen running very smoothly with no fuss of any kind so I assumed it was a solid machine. But after purchasing it, Its 6 volt system could not be bothered to get it going again, but after alittle rewiring it climbed on the trailer under its own power.

Purchase price : $1,700
Tax: $85

Running Total: $1,750

Anyway Here are some pictures when I first got it home and unloaded.

Attachments

• IMG_2772.jpg
    IMG_2772.jpg
    778.2 KB · Views: 541
  • IMG_2774.jpg
    IMG_2774.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 451
  • IMG_2787.jpg
    IMG_2787.jpg
    1,009.5 KB · Views: 427
  • IMG_2804.jpg
    IMG_2804.jpg
    762.1 KB · Views: 455
   / Budget Restoration / Modernization of a 1953 JD 40
Well ill do my best to get you caught up on my progress:

Since I can only work on it from my time away form school on the weekends (1-2) days a week, It is most of what i look forward to on the weekends.

Well my first task was getting rid of the current 6 volt system. The components of this is a solid state ignition to replace the points system from dennys carb shop, Napa echolin 3.0-3.25 ohm 12volt coil, and some new wiring, rotor button, plugs, plug wires, dist cap, battery, etc.