Chain Saw Recommendations - not a professional one please

/ Chain Saw Recommendations - not a professional one please #1  

doxford jim

Veteran Member
Tractor
1959 MF-65 sold, 2007 Jinma 554 diesel.
Hi all,

After readings 3RRL's thread on Chain Saw Cart, it got me thinking about chains saws.

I am fairly new to the world of chain saws and own a second hand McCulloch 20" saw. It works Ok but does seem to be in constant need of TLC.

I have several mature trees blown down in recent stormy weather and would like to be able to deal with cutting them up without too many problems. I could spend money on replacing various parts on the old saw or, cough up money and buy a new one for a little more.

So my question to all you experienced "chain sawers" is what would you recommend for a home owner, using it on a now and then basis. Money is a consideration (am retired) and would like to be able to get a good buy (who wouldn't). I don't want a professional grade unit so hopefully, the price would be more reasonable.

I have tried looking at reviews and the Poulan Pro 20" seems to get 4 stars out of 5 - but also a lot of comments on starting problems and stalling. I figure some of these would be down to using stale gas or the wrong mixture.

As you can see, I am trying to spend as little as possible - though not necessarily the cheapest.

Any input and/or pearls of wisdom would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys.

Jim

/ Chain Saw Recommendations - not a professional one please #2