Glow plug questions

/ Glow plug questions #1  

handirifle

Veteran Member
Tractor
Massey Ferguson 1010
I'm new to diesels so bear with me.

My MF1010 uses the ign switch left position to activate the GP's. I was told to hold there about 20-30 seconds. It seems lately that is not enough. Today it took about 4 tries, holding 20-30sec each time to get it started.

Do glow plugs wear out?

I assume they're replacable, and if so, what's the approx cost?

Does anything else keep them from top performance?

Thanks.

/ Glow plug questions #3  
Yes, glow plugs do "wear out." On my old Peugeot 504D, I'd change one or two about every 8 months or so. Easiest check is to disconnect the wiring harness from the plugs and do a resistance check, from tip of plug where wire connects to ground. They can fail other ways, but they seem to fail "open" --infinite resistance-- most.

So far, my MF's plugs seem to be holding up OK (165hrs).

/ Glow plug questions #4  
If your glow plugs are old, they could be dirty. Sometimes taking them out, and cleaning them, (about a 15 minute job), will allow them to heat better, and faster.

If they are really loaded with soot, they can be difficult to pull out of the head. Wiggle them back and forth, while pulling it out.

If it is warm where you are, you should need little, or no glow plug time to fire it up.

Have you tried different throttle settings?

Each engine has it's own quirks. Sometimes, if you set the throttle up from idle a little, before cranking, it will start faster.

I have one that starts best when I advance the throttle to full, and back to about 25% while I crank it.

/ Glow plug questions
Cool great responses, thanks. Looking at the engine, I see three wires that look like smallish spark plug wires that are attached with nuts so I assume these are the glow plugs?