Need advise on buying new Lawn Tractor. Kubota GR or BX, JD, or ?

/ Need advise on buying new Lawn Tractor. Kubota GR or BX, JD, or ? #1  

mshumack

Bronze Member
Tractor
2015 Kubota BX2370 w/ FEL and MMM
Hi.
I'm a new forum member, but have been hanging around for awhile and reading/learning what I can.

I have 3 acres mostly flat with orange trees and some natural vegetation and a long drainage swale that I maintain. I have a Craftsman 3000 Lawn tractor (20 HP Kohler).
I cut about 2-1/2 acres with it and have a grader blade, sprayer, and utility trailer that get used a lot.

I have kept this mower running for 20 years now (I'm a retired diesel mechanic) - but my frustration level with the poor quality build has driven me to want to replace it now. Plus I have just about replaced every part on it (including several decks).

Here's what I want:
Price range $9K okay (this is to be my last tractor ever - so I want good quality)
First, I do not want anything "belt driven" (except of course the blades).
I need 4wd or AWD.
I prefer a diesel (20 to 25 HP is plenty)
I would like easy deck removal (for cleanup and blade sharpening/changing).

I'm looking at the Kubota GR2120 with 54" deck. The brochure mentions a "One-Touch" deck. What is that? How easy is to remove the deck?

The other Kubota is the BX1870 (but it looks like I would need to go with the BX2370 to get the "Easy Over, Drive over deck" which I really like. However the BX line adds about $4K to the price (not easy to justify).
If I go with this model could I add the "Loader" later (save $2500 at purchase time) or do I need to get the Loader kit (frame, etc.) at the time of purchase(I don't need a FEL on a regular basis but it would be handy a couple of times a year)?

Any other manufacturers I should look at.

/ Need advise on buying new Lawn Tractor. Kubota GR or BX, JD, or ? #2  
Pricing varies around the regions, but you should check JD, Yanmar, New Holland, etc.