Seized rusted engine

/ Seized rusted engine #1  

Silver Member
Tractor
yanmar 3810, 48 Allis B
Okay Guys, I'm new at this so navigating this site presents a challenge. If I can't thank you after your helpful remarks, please accept my gratitude before hand.

Now the problem: I am trying to restore a 1948 Allis, B model. The head has been off for years and the tractor has been exposed to Oklahoma weather during this time. Mud daubers, rain, vines that have stickers, leaves, snow, the whole ball of wax. Needless to say the pistons and sleeves are rusted. It has had no oil pan attached during that time and I see that one of the bottom bearings has been removed and the crank is rusted, at least in that one position. Does anyone have a suggestion to free the pistons/crank? Would it be possible that the crank is rusted under all the bearings as well? My problem is I have a bunch of passion for this job but I lack experience since the 40s and 50s when I was a kid messing with old cars. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

/ Seized rusted engine #2  
Personally, for the shape that engine is in, I'd pull it off the tractor and tear it completely down...

B Allis motors come off very easily...

SR

/ Seized rusted engine #3  
Sounds like it is in terrible shape.

Probably the best way to break the pistons loose is to clean out the bores the best you can and pour in some penetrating solution, like WD40. Let it sit for a few days and add more as it works it's way past the pistons, if it does.

Re-install the bearing and cap.

Then try to bar it over with a pry bar working the ring gear teeth. This might work best where the starter mounts to give you a place to pry. Pry forward and backward harder and harder until it actually moves. This can seem very brutal, but it's about all you can do unless you pull the crank and beat on each piston with a block of wood and a 5 lb hammer to break them loose. That ruins the pistons for sure.