The "real" capacity of a 26000 lbs. GVW moving truck

/ The "real" capacity of a 26000 lbs. GVW moving truck #21  
Preface: I'm not planning on overloading the truck, I'm just curious.

I'm getting ready to move soon, so I'm looking at renting a moving truck, trucks like these that have stated GVW's at or just 26,000 lbs.:

22 ft. - 26 ft. Diesel Non-CDL Cargo Vans - Penske Truck Rental
https://www.budgettruck.com/moving-trucks.aspx

As I understand it, driving a truck with a GWV over 26000 lbs. requires a CDL, but as an engineer I know that things don't often come out to nice round numbers like 26,000. So is the GVW on these trucks understated so that they can be driven without a CDL?

That is, are these the same as a nearly-identical truck that requires a CDL and has a higher GVW?
to answer your question, the GVW is based on the ratings of all the trucks components, such as tires, springs and axle ratings. You could have a truck built with a 9000 lb. front axle and a 17,000 lb. rear axle but if the buyer chose to put lighter spec tires on it that were not rated for those loads, the truck would only be rated to the max tire load ratings.

I do believe however that a manufacturer can rate the truck for a lesser rating than is called for by the components just so you can get by with a non-CDL driver. for example a Ford F-750 is typically a 33,000 gvw class 7 truck. You will often see new 750's advertised with 26,000 lb. ratings. Bottom line, truck's components are probably heavier but the attraction is you can get away with a non-CDL driver.

One other interesting thing-next time you pass a Penske 24' box truck, check out the GVW posting on the door. I do believe most willsay 25,999 lbs. I believe they do that to avoid the BS of some cops who will say 26,000 IS CDL- not OVER 26,000.