Camera Security Systems???

/ Camera Security Systems???
No worries about thread creep. I find value in all of this. :)

/ Camera Security Systems??? #152  
Well here's a creep.
I've got an Argus 2 I'm trying to get a handle on the battery life. It's just sitting on the table watching the room along with my Samsung Note 8 acting as a monitor. It's been sitting there for about an hour. All of a sudden the "voice" comes on and I hear an ad for some Youtube stuff. I couldn't tell for sure if it was the camera or the note. But I've had the note for 3 or 4 years and it's never done that before.

/ Camera Security Systems??? #153  
I concur that Blue Iris is the way to go. I've been using it for the last 7+ years. The developer, Ken, is available and responsive. I'd pay 10x the cost just support his genius.

I currently have 35 cameras - mostly Hikvision and Dahua PoE IP cameras. The program is on a dedicated i7-4XXX machine running windows 10. The CPU runs between 60 and 80% (depending on the activity level of the cameras), and I have about half the cameras set to 15 FPS, with the remaining set to 25 and 30 FPS. Most are set to 1080P.

All but about 5 of the cameras are hardwired. And some runs approach 500'. The max distance for cat5/6 cable is about 330', but if you use solid copper (23ga) you can push it to about 450' w/o issue. If you need to go longer, you can get mid-span switches that act as a signal booster.

View attachment 580709 2018-11-27_21-25-42.jpg

/ Camera Security Systems??? #154  
I am wondering if, like many other things, there are a handful of companies making these cameras and software under different names.

As for cameras, does anyone have a 270 degree camera? They seem to have multiple cameras inside but one housing and one image. I would like to have one of those under the eve on each corner of the house.

/ Camera Security Systems??? #155