What else do you do with forks besides lift pallets?

/ What else do you do with forks besides lift pallets? #441  
I ordered a nice plastic pallet, the most common pallet size and 6000 pound capacity ... also plan to use it as a work platform ... relying on it not to fall. (Yes, FELs aren't supposed to be counted on for safety, but I think a fall from 4 or 6 feet is a small enough risk.)
I had a scare back when I was a carpenter. First day on a job I was assigned a forklift with a non-code platform with a railing, to work on a second story window. Then I drove the rig to the next window ... and when I went over a bump the platform fell to the ground.

I found a fresh - and broken - weld where the lift chain had been attached to the platform.

/ What else do you do with forks besides lift pallets? #442  
Shop loaded my little Yanmar into my trailer ...

p1530374rloadingym186datdaves-jpg.460565

/ What else do you do with forks besides lift pallets?
   / What else do you do with forks besides lift pallets? #444  
Didn't stop for pics, but I used mine to load up an old washer and dryer into the back of my truck to haul them to the dump.

Love them forks, sure are a back saver.

/ What else do you do with forks besides lift pallets? #445  
i think they would be useful as an engine hoist, but I have one of those already

holding lumber at a build site (chicken coop)

/ What else do you do with forks besides lift pallets? #446  
How about packing the Afton stone (crushed limestone) I just spread. Rear tires are loaded on the BX2230, loader bucket full of dirt, IBC totes filled with 125 gallons of water on the rear forks. I added water to tote with the 3pt arms in the up position. After a while, it had settled a bit and had to use the B26TLB bucket to raise it up. Jon

Attachments

• 20210525_191002.jpg
    20210525_191002.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 99
   / What else do you do with forks besides lift pallets? #447