Hydrogen infrastructure

/ Hydrogen infrastructure #31  
About 20 years ago the school district where I was a Facilities Manager we installed a CNG compressor station and storage for fast fill. Most of the busses were connected to overnight slow fill, but if necessary one could be filled in a few minutes. We did that as legislation was being passed which prohibited school districts from purchasing new diesel busses. The result was that maintenance costs on engines dropped considerably and engine life lengthened, but the greatest benefit was that the cost per equivalent gallon was about a buck a gallon.

Now this was an ideal situation as school busses generally have relatively short routes (less than 100 miles in the desert communities). But Waste Management and the local transit busses have also converted with good results. The local transit bus company has several hydrogen busses which are in a pilot program.

CNG is probably a good segway to hydrogen.

/ Hydrogen infrastructure #32  
"I see the amount of infrastructure required for us to go to all electric vehicles as staggering. You're not talking about a single 30-40 amp charging station per dwelling. The reality is probably the need for 2-3 charging stations per household."