Buying a new truck ? Times have changed.

/ Buying a new truck ? Times have changed. #51  
Maybe affordability is in the eye of the beholder, but my recollection is that even a Honda subcompact was pushing $20k around middle Tennessee when I was car shopping last year.
There's a slight difference between 20 and 70K. Somebody mentioned they just bought a new car for $14,000.
That has me thinking about a new car again, as what I've been finding used is worn out or over 10K for something 5 years old and beyond the mileage warranty.
Automatic has been standard for a very long time as many simply not good at shifting gears.

I must be the last person that likes a work truck without carpet...
Automatics have become better than manuals in a lot of ways. For decades they have had a larger towing capacity, and with an eight or ten speed transmission they work pretty well. Of course it also costs about 5 grand when they go, but by then should have over 100K miles on them.

I prefer carpet because it dries easier. Especially in winter you are bound to get moisture working it's way down through the cracks, and once the mats mildew it's almost impossible to get the stench out. I do put rubber mats over the carpet which are easy to take out and clean, and let the air to the carpet.

/ Buying a new truck ? Times have changed. #52  
Last edited:
   / Buying a new truck ? Times have changed. #53  
I wanted but I'm told they will be retrofitted when parts become available.
Kind of like the Takata air bag fiasco. We keep getting notices to have it replaced at the dealer but when I ask the dealer about it, they have never seen any replacements. So far neither vehicles have had exploding air bags.

/ Buying a new truck ? Times have changed. #54  
Kind of like the Takata air bag fiasco. We keep getting notices to have it replaced at the dealer but when I ask the dealer about it, they have never seen any replacements. So far neither vehicles have had exploding air bags.