2007 NH T2420 no glow plug/start

/ 2007 NH T2420 no glow plug/start #1  

jqnj

Tractor
New Holland 2420
Not sure where to look. Started tractor day before snowstorm, started . Ready! Day of snowstorm, nada. No glow plug light. Searched it on google, seemed the logical culprit was glow plug relay. nobody had one, so ordered online. Got it today, plugged in new glow plug relay....continued nada. All lights on dash work, no glow light when engaging key. Battery voltage checks good, tried jumping with extra voltage, still no glow plug recognition at dash when key is turned. I am a novice at best dealing with electrical. Baffled as to where to look, dealer is not great and would require tow to service. Maybe key itself?

/ 2007 NH T2420 no glow plug/start #2  
I would start by disconnecting and reconnecting the seat, pto, and neutral safety switches.

/ 2007 NH T2420 no glow plug/start #3  
Do you get power to the glow plug relay when calling for glow plugs? If you're not energizing the relay the glow plugs won't heat. Check your fuses. Sometimes they look good even when they're not. Yes, it could be the ignition switch or the wire anywhere in between. I'd want to make darn sure it WAS the switch before replacing it, though. Can you bypass the relay to power the glow plugs for fifteen seconds or so to see if the glow plugs will heat or tractor will start?

/ 2007 NH T2420 no glow plug/start
Hey, thanks for the tips. I have been unable to look at it yet, work crazy, having a go tomorrow.

/ 2007 NH T2420 no glow plug/start #5  
Did you try starting it? Maybe the light is burned out. I know you said all lights work but I'm not sure about a light test for the glow plugs.