3-Point Hitch 3-point newbie

/ 3-point newbie #1  

bem1965

Tractor
Iseki TS 2200
Hi all,

I have a Iseki TS 2220 F.

I am very new to tractors so this is propably just ignorance but I would like to know for sure...

My tractor has been used as a snow remover for the last ten years prior to me buying it. On the 3-point there is a counter wheight box full of wheights.n I have remover the counter wheight box (after removing the snow bucket).

PTO works both high and low speed.

But I am a little unsure of operating the 3-point hitch....

I have turned the knob "lowering speed adjustment lever" to "Fast". When I move the "Hydraulic control lever" up and down nothing seems to happen, it might be that the arms was raised a tad, but hard to tell...

If I understand the 3-point correctly the arms ought to lower by their own wheigt when I put the "Hydraulic control lever" in the down position.
Is it possible that I need to add wheigt to the 3-point lifting arms to get them to lower? This seems a bit problematic, If the arms are in the up position it is a bit troublesome to heist 150 kg of counter wheigt up and fasten to the arms. I now that farmers of yesteryear were all supermen, but this seems a bit over the top, not even my grandfather was strong enough to lift the big implements!

Any help would be appreciated!

/Lars

/ 3-point newbie #2  
You may have answered it on your own already.

You may need to have weight on the 3-pt for the arms to lower.

I am not saying all 3-pts have to have weight but yours may.

Sounds like you have the correct idea of how to work it also.

Try some weight.

Maybe put the lever in the down position (with the tractor off NOT RUNNING) and stand on one of the arms?

Good luck in getting it working...

/ 3-point newbie #3  
others be much more helpful than I. and more likely know some details about your specific tractor model. and correct questions to ask you.