Tractor Sizing 3016 vs 3616 vs 4010

/ 3016 vs 3616 vs 4010 #1  

millsan1

Gold Member
Tractor
Mahindra 2538 Cab, Volvo ECR40D Excavator
Hello all. Long time lurker, second post.

I own about 15 acres in eastern PA. All heavily wooded (14" - 24" trees) and steep (25%+ grade), except for the driveway and house. Not a blade of grass to cut, thank god.

I have a lot of deadfall and brush piles from past storms, etc.

I have zero tractor experience, but using this and other sites, I am coming up to speed. I have operated backhoes and other equipment.

Projects:

Brush cleanup
Log hauling to central location for splitting, sawing, etc
Trail cutting (will be all side slope, so lots of digging)
Some excavation around the house to improve drainage, dig out an area to make a patio, etc,

I have looked around and pretty much have set my mind on a Mahindra. Looked at a bunch of tractors before coming to this decision, and did a lot of research.

I will be getting an FEL and BH.

Right now, I believe the 3016, 3616 and 4010 are my primary choices. They are adequately heavy, thinner profile and have good lifting capacity.

I do not think the Max is the right tool, given the amount of digging and trailblazing I need to do. I am sure it could do the work, but the time to do so will probably be prohibitive.

Here is what I have so far, all HST, FEL and BH all pre-negotiations:

3016 $26,500
3616 $28,000
4010 $26,000

The 3016 and 3616 are brandy dandy new.

The 4010 is a leftover, but will still qualify for new warranty etc. It has 50 hours on the clock. Dealer used it around the dealership.

I am leaning hard toward the 4010. Price, size, capacity.

My only concerns right now are that the 16 series seem to be much more popular, and the 10 does not have a mid mount attachment in case I ever want to put on a snowblower in the future.