4720 ABC transmission range question.

/ 4720 ABC transmission range question. #1  

qstott

Silver Member
Tractor
'65 110 JD, 445 JD, 4720CabJD
As I am a 4720 newbie owner, I have a question. I seem to have some difficulty changing the transmission range lever from A to B to C. It seems to work fine when the tractor is off. But when it is running for a few minutes, it's almost impossible to change it. The transmission fluid is full. I thought maybe the cable needed lubing, but it works so well when it's not running, I don't see how that can have an effect. It is a cab tractor. Thanks!

/ 4720 ABC transmission range question. #2  
E hydro?
1st, don't shift on the move, but try to give it a little pedal forward let off and try it and if still hard a little pedal backward then try it.

/ 4720 ABC transmission range question. #4  
Ed zachary! Also goes for the 4wd, you have to tap on the f and r a little to get it to engage.

/ 4720 ABC transmission range question. #5  
Is it new? My dealer said the linkage on the ehydro sometimes needs adjustment. If the advice doesn't work it could be setup improperly from the start.

/ 4720 ABC transmission range question. #6  
My 4320 has the same stiffness. Like others have mentioned rock it forward/backward and it should slip right in.

/ 4720 ABC transmission range question. #7