Anyone in the Dirt Work bidness here? Got questions!

/ Anyone in the Dirt Work bidness here? Got questions! #1  

FTG-05

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota L4330 GST w/FEL, Kubota RTV-XG850, Kubota ZD326S
I'm a retired Boeing engineer, now going on 6 years. It's starting to get stale doing the same thing pretty much every day here on my farm and need to do something different. I've been watching Andrew Camarata's dirt working videos on youtube. And one of the things I do enjoy about my farm is working on and continually improving the one mile gravel road I live on. Plus, I'd like to earn some "toy money" so I can buy more guns, ammo and reloading supplies (I have two rifle ranges and one pistol range on my property - shooting be expensive Yo).

So I'd like to get a job helping a small contractor who does excavation, backhoe, gravel and other type dirt jobs. I'd prefer part time as well.

I would envision my role as one of support: driving a truck to and fro, maybe running a skid steer moving dirt while they did the primary digging. In other words, the opposite of "dig a trench and if you hit a gas line you'll kill a thousand people" type jobs.

I'm not gonna lie: I've never operated heavy equipment before, just my Kubota L4330 tractor (well plus my cousin's big JD combine, but that was in the late 70's). I've looked into getting a TN Class B CDL (able to operate +26k lb vehicles) and I can take the knowledge test ok, but can't take the skills test since I don't have a +26k lb machine to test on. Not sure what to do there, if anything. In addition, I'm +63 years old, worn tore up knees and recovering from a broken back: I won't be digging ditches or bailing hay any time soon.

On the positive side: As a retired person, my schedule would be pretty flexible. Plus, having worked at Boeing +32 years, if I say I'm going to show up for work, then I show up; undrunk and unhungover.