Beware of possible issues when installing some LED lights on your tractor

/ Beware of possible issues when installing some LED lights on your tractor #1  

W8BYA

Silver Member
Tractor
NH Boomer 40
Howdy everyone. I thought I would share a couple videos with you illustrating what happened when I replaced the stock front Halogen work lights on my 2019 Boomer-40 with a pair of Asian 16-LED light fixtures. Note that NH sells these EXACT lights as aftermarket add-ons ! I do not believe they are aware of the possible issues with these lights on some machines but I have passed this on to my dealer.

The first video shows what happened to the reception of strong radio stations when the lights were activated while the 2nd video details some engineering analysis I performed in my basement lab on one of the lights.

I am a degreed electrical engineer from the defense industry and have been iNARTE certified as an EMC engineer for over 3 decades so I understand that this issue may be a bit complex to some so I tried to keep it non-technical to the extent possible.

Anyway, just wanted to bring awareness to others of what may happen. The issues seen in the video can affect a lot more electronics on your tractor then your radio.....sensors, instrumentation, erratic tractor operation, etc, etc. Hope this helps out others. Also not saying this will happen on every tractor....each situation can be different depending on how power lines are routed, filtered, and what kind of devices are being powered and if they too are filtered. Clearly in my case neither the lights or the radio employed any kind of power line filtering.

LED Lights Wipe Out ALL AM/FM Stations on New Holland Boomer 4 Tractor SEVERE RFI - YouTube

WOW, UNREAL RFI Noise Measured From My LED Tractor Lights ! - YouTube

GV

/ Beware of possible issues when installing some LED lights on your tractor #2