Buying advice for small but powerful loader

/ Buying advice for small but powerful loader #1  

MapleKing

Tractor
Not yet
I'm new to the forum and I thought this would be the best place to ask experienced tractor owners what model they would consider for the tasks I have. I know typically pallet moving would be done by a forklift but I can't use one due to terrain and besides, a tractor is more versatile!

I currently don't own a tractor but I have a need for something to move 1600lb pallets into the back of my pickup and/or a trailer about once a week. I also would like to get a front mounted snowblower so I'm thinking that a tractor would be my best bet. I'm a maple syrup producer and I will be packing containers into cases in my sugarhouse and once I have a full pallet, I need to move it to the back of my truck or a trailer. The pallets will weigh about 1600lbs. Ideally I'd like the smallest tractor that can do that job and I'm looking for a loader that would have pallet forks and not forks attached to a bucket.

Any thoughts on the smallest tractor that could move 1600lb pallets? I'm not loyal to any brand and am willing to use whatever machine is the best for the job.

Thanks!

Dave

/ Buying advice for small but powerful loader #2  
You’re looking at a pretty good size tractor do do that. I’d say a big framed 40 hp would be the absolute minimum.

/ Buying advice for small but powerful loader #3  
Have you thought about using a skid steer? If all you're using it for is snow clearing and moving pallets, a skid-steer would probably be more effective than a tractor. On a tractor to pick up that much weight, you'll need to be around 40 horsepower.

Aaron Z

/ Buying advice for small but powerful loader #5  
I second skid steer, I love tractors but seems a skid steer would serve you better.