Carnitas

/ Carnitas #1  

downsizingnow48

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota B21
We really like carnitas (Mexican pulled pork) in restaurants so I decided to make it at home. I studied about a dozen recipes. They were all different except for the basic idea, which is simmering a large amount of pork at low heat for a long time so it can be pulled apart. So I decided to make up my own recipe, using elements of about a half dozen recipes that looked most interesting. Unlike most carnitas recipes, this one does not require much work. Also does not require frying the pork in lard.

Ingredients
4-5 pounds of pork shoulder roast
2 medium white onions
5 garlic cloves
4 large dried chiles (I used black chiles, chile negro), no seeds or stems
2 fresh jalapeno chiles no seeds or stems
1 fresh poblano chile no seeds or stems
1 tablespoon mexican oregano
1 teaspoon each cumin, thyme, marjoram
2 bay leaves
salt pepper

Cut up the pork into large steak-like pieces. Salt and pepper. It needs to be browned. I put it on the grill instead. This accomplishes the same thing but keeps the mess outside instead of oil splattered all over the kitchen.

Put slabs of browned pork into dutch oven. Add all the other ingredients, cover with water.

Simmer on top of stove for about 2 1/2 hours.

Take out the pork, let cool, then pull apart into chunks. Not shredded completely, just chunks.

Thats it.

We had it in tortillas with salsa, sour cream, and guacamole. I also fished out the boiled up chiles and onions and mashed them up, it made a nice garnish. And we saved the broth for spicy soup stock.

/ Carnitas #2  
That sounds pretty good. I have cooked pulled pork on the smoker, so I'm wondering if it couldn't be adapted to the smoker. I have a Dutch oven; maybe brown it on high heat, put it in the Dutch oven for an hour or so and finish it off covered. Oh, and it sounds like a natural with guacamole. I use the "Rotel Guacamole" recipe with plenty of garlic!

Guacamole Rotel Recipe - Genius Kitchen