Concrete Foundations for Wooden Bridge

/ Concrete Foundations for Wooden Bridge #1  

glennmac

Veteran Member
Tractor
2003 Kubota L3430
In a few weeks, when my son is home, I am going to build another bridge over my creek so I can get my tractor to my back 8 acres. The double-culvert bridge I built last fall has washed out several times, and I consider that approach to be a failure.

I need some advice on how, in what shape, and where to pour the concrete foundations for a wooden bridge. I have never done anything like this before.

Here is the basic construction idea. The bed of the creek has fairly vertical walls, almost U-shaped. It is about 3-feet deep. At the location where I will span, the gap between banks is about 8' maximum. I am going to use four 20' long 4'' x 12" beams (long side vertical) to span the creek. So, I will have at least 6' of beam on the ground on each side of the creek. Across the span beams, I will nail 12' long 2" x 6" boards. I want to put concrete foundations under the beams, and then somehow secure the beams to the concrete to prevent the bridge from washing away during overflows.

Different ways to pour the foundation have been suggested to me.

1. Use 12" diameter sono-tubes at each end of each beam, each sono-tube buried at least 3' (4', 5', ????). I dont know whether to put the sono-tubes at the very end of each beam, or to put it maybe 3' from the end of each beam, which would still leave it 3' from the edge of the creek. In other words. should the cross spans be end-supported or cantilevered on the sono-tube foundations. Also, should I elevate the sono-tube above ground level, so that the span beams are elevated and contacting only the sono-tube. Or should the sono-tube be basically flush with the ground so the beam is also resting on the ground in addition to the sono-tube.