Culvert fail

/ Culvert fail #1  

Pixguy

Tractor
2011 MF 2410 TLB
To eliminate a sharp hill and rock lined ditch which was a nightmare for mowing, I installed a 12" culvert. I dug out all loam and dark soil lined with sand and installed top just 4-6" below surface. I know it's not below the NH frost line and expected some heaving but thought it'd just rise a couple inches and drop down in spring. The top 1/3 is fine and the bottom third is worst.

I will pull apart I guess and see why it isn't dropping

Your thoughts?

6E9DE842-A86F-44C4-B182-7D0259C81845.jpeg

/ Culvert fail #2  
I’m a retired land surveyor and worked for an engineering company for 36 years. We always liked to see a minimum amount of cover over a pipe which you probably don’t have. We always specified sand under streets because it obtains density quicker but this was in a deep trench and not around the pipe but it can also wash out easier. We usually had gravel put in around the pipe and under it a little bit aNd several inches above it.

/ Culvert fail #3  
Looks pretty!

While freeze thaw is always going to be working against a shallow culvert, especially one without rock on top, my first thought/question is;
how much compaction did you do over/around the culvert when you put it in?

When you dig it out, I would place it deeper, either with more cover or deeper in the existing site, and cover it with at least 6-8" of crushed rock, compacted every 4", preferably more. You need weight on top of it that won't move readily to keep it down.

Like frost heaving rocks, the culvert is going to float up, not up and down. More mass holding it in place will slow the rise, but yes, only being below the frost line would be permanent.

If you don't have a ton of water, there is also putting in a deep French drain, with geotextile on top, and soil on top of that.

All the best,

Peter

Last edited:
   / Culvert fail #4