GST Transmission and loader function

/ GST Transmission and loader function #1  

catvet

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota L-39
I'm renting a L39 for the weekend to try it out. This is my first time using a GST transmission. Love the tractor not sure about the GST. I'm use to my B7800 and it's HST.

Here's a scenario: I'm approaching a log with pallet forks, the log is on my uphill side (only way to get to the log is coming straight up from downhill). I slip the forks under the log. There is a tree directly on the other side of the log so I can't go further forward. But the log is a big sucker and I need to to throttle up to lift it. I put in the clutch. Oops I'm heading back down the hill gaining speed as I go. How about shifting into neutral, nope same back down the hill problem. Can't use the brake because my foot is already on the throttle. What is the proper hand/foot action for this situation?

Same thing in the downhill direction. I'm dumping a load of brush and facing sl. downhill. I'd like to raise the loader but if I use the throttle I'm heading either forward or reverse unless I have the clutch in or I'm in neutral in which case I'm rolling into the pile.

I know a lot of people have the GST transmissions and love them. I can see it's positive features but I do a lot of loader/fork work on hills (it is after all Vermont). I'm sure I'm missing something to make this go smoothly.

Any help appreciated. I'd like to love this L39 because the backhoe and loader lift ability are exactly what I want without a massive sized tractor.

/ GST Transmission and loader function #2  
GST trans is great for open field work, lots of flexibililty with great efficiency compared to an HST. Downside is it really sucks for fine control loader work.
If you used an HST with a loader you wouldn't even consider doing without one. It lets you get really close to buildings and finished structures without worrying about hitting them once you are used to it.