Just bought three acres, now what

/ Just bought three acres, now what #1  

deeboy

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the forum. I freely admit that I'm a tractor newbie. Seems like there are a lot of people on this forum that know a lot more about tractors that I do. I've done some web-research at a few of the big name compact tractor sites, but wanted to get some real user input into my decision. First a little about my situation.

I just bought three acres in Eastern NC. The land is relatively flat. I have about 1.5 acres of grass and another 1.5 of woods, debris and other crap. The reason I'm looking for a tractor is because I need to do the following things:

1. Mow
2. material handling (fill dirt, mulch, and other heavy misc stuff up to about 500 lbs)
3. tilling
4. landscaping

Things that are important to me:

1. ease of use: particularly driving, changeover of attachments, and ability to get tasks done quickly.
2. Quality
3. Availability of spares: I don't want to have to drive 50 miles to get a spare part if needed.

I'm a little overwhelmed by the number of options I have with respect to horesepower of the tractor. I guess I just need some direction so when I go to the dealer, I know what I'm talking about. Thanks in advance.

/ Just bought three acres, now what #2  
go look at the kioti ck20 or 25 with hydrostatic trans, tuff tractors, easy to use. free loader at certain times of the year.

/ Just bought three acres, now what #4  
20-25hp should be fine. HST is easiest. Loader and rear mower. I started with similar tasks/acreage and was very happy with a Kioti CK20. I'm sure the equivalent Kubota, JD and NH and also Mahindra would also be just dandy.

/ Just bought three acres, now what #5  
Shopping and studying and dreaming is part of the fun.