Loader w/out power steering

/ Loader w/out power steering #1  

diulin

Tractor
Massey Ferguson 1705, Ford 1700
I've been trying to find a loader to put on my Ford 1700, but I was just told by a Ford tractor repair shop that it's a bad idea to put a loader on a tractor without power steering. The Ford 1700 came with power steering as an option, but I guess my grandpa didn't see the need. Seems to me that tractors have had loaders for longer than power steering has been an option, but I'm pretty new at this game. Should I stop trying to find a loader? I'm guessing that a retrofit with power steering would be a really big job. I could just trade in the tractor, but it was my grandfather's, and it's in pretty good shape.

/ Loader w/out power steering #2  
Power steering like day and night,bucket of materials traveling over rough or even ground make sure your hands on the outside of steering wheel more so if frontend tires are narrow.
I had Kubota over 15years with no power steering with turf tires.

/ Loader w/out power steering #3  
I've done loader work with no power steering.

It is a lot harder to do the job since you can't turn the wheels when stopped. You have to be rolling and plan where your wheels need to be positioned before you stop.

Not impossible, life is just better with power steering.

Personal experience is it's usually very expensive to put a loader on an older tractor that didn't have one unless you luck into a salvage deal where you can get loader, mounts and hydraulic connections off the same tractor model.

/ Loader w/out power steering
I've done loader work with no power steering.

It is a lot harder to do the job since you can't turn the wheels when stopped. You have to be rolling and plan where your wheels need to be positioned before you stop.

Not impossible, life is just better with power steering.