Mobile Home Setup Cost

/ Mobile Home Setup Cost #1  

justinramani

Gold Member
Tractor
Mahindra 4035
Hi Everyone,

A few days ago I purchased a surplus FEMA manufactured home from the government. Its about 25 miles south of me at a storage facility. I dont have much experience with manufactured homes. I got a few quotes for transport and setup and wanted to get yalls opinion in if the prices seem fair. Its a 14 x 64 single wide. All wheels, axles and tongue are present and in good condition. Trailer is ready to be hooked up.

Cost to transport 25 miles, level, block and underpin: $1,800
Rough Estimate for Electric Service connection: $1000 - $1500
Skirting: $1,000

Thoughts?

/ Mobile Home Setup Cost #2  
I have no real experience to offer you, but I would question the $1000 for skirting. Not sure what they were planning to use, but you want something to be sure critters stay out from underneath. I would consider putting hardware cloth a few inches into the ground and running it all the way to contact the home - all the way around. And then cover over that with something a bit more pleasing to the eye. I would have to think this is less than $1000.

Not sure what temp's get down to where you're located and if pipes freezing are a concern or not. If so, I would tackle that (insulating the skirt?) while you are getting it setup.

If you got that route, be sure to leave yourself a way or two past the hardware cloth for under home maintenance.

/ Mobile Home Setup Cost
Thats a good idea to keep out the critters.

/ Mobile Home Setup Cost #4  
Hi Everyone,

A few days ago I purchased a surplus FEMA manufactured home from the government. Its about 25 miles south of me at a storage facility. I dont have much experience with manufactured homes. I got a few quotes for transport and setup and wanted to get yalls opinion in if the prices seem fair. Its a 14 x 64 single wide. All wheels, axles and tongue are present and in good condition. Trailer is ready to be hooked up.