Need Insight/Advise on Changing Well Pressure Tank

/ Need Insight/Advise on Changing Well Pressure Tank #1  

Gordon Gould

Tractor
Kubota L3010DT, Kubota M5640SUD, Dresser TD7G Dozer
Not a tractor issue but this is the best place I know to get solid advise on most anything. I need to change out my water logged pressure tank. I would like to be ready with everything I need and have it go smooth. I have a new tank that is exactly the same as the old. My initial plan is to remove the old tank and header tee by disconnecting the union on the house side and the plastic well water pipe on the well side. Then transfer the header tee to the new tank. All the joints are tight ( leak free ) and all appears in good shape. This is what I have

P1170777.JPG

The thing that concerns me most is the plastic well pipe connection - how hard will it be to take apart. I have no experience with this type of pipe what ever it is. The plastic pipe seems very tough and fairly rigid. Not a very thick wall though. I will not be able to twist the connection, only pull with the tank still attached. Are there any special methods needed for this or will it come apart easily ??????? OR should I expect to have to cut the pipe and change the plumbing in that area ????? If so, suggestions on how would be appreciated. Here is a close up of the brass to plastic connection. Thanks !!!

P1170781.JPG

gg

/ Need Insight/Advise on Changing Well Pressure Tank #2  
I would cut back the plastic pipe and add in a second union. Never need to worry about it again.

/ Need Insight/Advise on Changing Well Pressure Tank #3  
Warm the plastic pipe up with a heat gun or hair dryer.
Are you sure the old tank is bad?
Over time they can loose the air pressure and need to be aired back up.

/ Need Insight/Advise on Changing Well Pressure Tank #4