Need to know. Mig/Tig vs stick

/ Need to know. Mig/Tig vs stick #1  

davesl708

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota BX2200D,
I have some past experience in welding stainless steel. Mostly 304 using stick for the heavy stuff and heliarc for the sheet metal.

My question is, does Mig or Tig welding have the same tensile strength and get as good penetration as stick welding when welding mild steel? Would Mig or Tig be used on 3/8" or thicker metal that will get heavy loading?

/ Need to know. Mig/Tig vs stick #2  
   / Need to know. Mig/Tig vs stick #3  
I guess you could say that the mig wire has a tensile strength of it's own no matter what you are sticking it to. Often 70S6 in the 60K to 70K range. Mig is the most likely to put on too cold making for dangerously low strength in the joints. Tig would be pure welding and the tensile would likely be more toward what the base metal is because you need to melt the base metal into a puddle to get the weld going. I guess stick too could easily be laid down too cold causing dangerous strength. ie: 90K tensile rod ran too cold could be only 10K tensile in the joint. Cold welds are why people need to practice and learn how to " read the bead "..

/ Need to know. Mig/Tig vs stick #4  
Tig is used almost exclusively in the nuclear industry;I would think it is strong enough.You will not see a mig machine in a nuclear plant or ship.
My experience is on pipe in nuclear plants;normaly tig the first two passes and 7018/8018/9018 out.
I have welded on pipe with as much as 3-1/2" wall thickness(low pressure side of the turbine) and 100% x-ray.
I have been told that on a nuclear ship it is TIG all the way out.

/ Need to know. Mig/Tig vs stick #5  
I have been told that on a nuclear ship it is TIG all the way out.
I live in a county with 3 Navy ship yards. One is a Trident sub base. All the welders that I know who work in these yards tell me all pipe welding is done with Tig only.

/ Need to know. Mig/Tig vs stick #7