PTO shield safety chains

/ PTO shield safety chains #1  

davrow

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kioti CK27HST
I've been researching this lately and find it amazing how controversial it is, and how much contradictory advice is given.

Some people claim you should never cut the chain to shorten it as that is not safe... yet those same people cut their PTO shafts to fit without a 2nd thought. :confused:

Bare-co makes an aftermarket PTO shield and they claim using the chain is more dangerous than leaving it off! (I disagree strongly with this, the idea is to NOT have rotating stuff back there)

The tractor's PTO shield has a hole in it to attach the safety chain to for that end. But do you (those of you who use a shield and chain) shorten the chain or let it wrap around the shield?

And where in the world do you attach the chain on the implement end?

You are right if you are guessing this is my first time with a PTO implement, just want to be as safe as possible. :)

Thanks

/ PTO shield safety chains #2  
My experience has been to use the PTO shield chains just as they come OE. I've used different shafts from different sources on several different attachments and have had no problems with the shield or chains. Sometimes I attach the tractor side to a loop on the top link and the implement side to anywhere it will reach. Works on my tiller, the stump grinder and the wood chipper.

But I'm still a learner.

Cheers,
Mike

/ PTO shield safety chains #3  
Heck, I've always removed the chain as nobody ever told me what it was for.

I do use it to suspend the shaft off of the ground when the implement is stored.

/ PTO shield safety chains #4  
The chain has to have some slack in it because the PTO shaft moves up and down as you raise and lower the implement. I leave mine as they come.