Run 15W-40 or 10W-30

/ Run 15W-40 or 10W-30 #1  

tcreeley

Elite Member
Tractor
2003 NH TC30
I always have used Mastergold 10W-30 year round in my 2003 TC30. Never a problem. I went and bought some hydraulic and engine oil a few days ago and drained the engine oil today. When I went to fill it up I saw they had thrown in 15W-40 instead of 10W-30. I stuck it in, (needed to use the tractor) but I am wondering about the temperature range on the 15W-40. Winters can routinely stay at 0 and go below. I plow with my tractor and plug it in.
I'm thinking I'll change it out 1st couple of weeks in Dec- but I've never used this weight oil before. Has anyone used it in their tractor? How about in colder areas? I've often wondered if I shouldn't be using 5W-30 during the winter.
What do people use?
Looked all over online and this site- finding nothing.

/ Run 15W-40 or 10W-30 #2  
Of course I'm in Texas with a different climate, but I used 15W-40 in my tractors, as did everyone I knew.

/ Run 15W-40 or 10W-30 #3  
Owners Manual. Check the recommended temperature ranges. I always stay within the recommendations because each engine type can be different and I would hate to second guess the designers.

/ Run 15W-40 or 10W-30 #4  
I always have used Mastergold 10W-30 year round in my 2003 TC30. Never a problem. I went and bought some hydraulic and engine oil a few days ago and drained the engine oil today. When I went to fill it up I saw they had thrown in 15W-40 instead of 10W-30. I stuck it in, (needed to use the tractor) but I am wondering about the temperature range on the 15W-40. Winters can routinely stay at 0 and go below. I plow with my tractor and plug it in.
I'm thinking I'll change it out 1st couple of weeks in Dec- but I've never used this weight oil before. Has anyone used it in their tractor? How about in colder areas? I've often wondered if I shouldn't be using 5W-30 during the winter.
What do people use?
Looked all over online and this site- finding nothing.