Running tractor without loader cylinder

/ Running tractor without loader cylinder #1  

hotbam37

Tractor
John Deere 4044m
Hello all, I'm new to tractors and hydraulics as a whole. I have experience with most other things though. Yesterday the left cylinder piston on our front loader snapped in half. Of course the replacement part is about $1200 that we don't have right now. I really want to use the brush hog this week for clearing some brush. I plan on getting the cylinder repaired/replaced once the money is available. My brother and I removed the cylinder to try and get the remaining piston rod out of the cylinder but can't seem to do it yet. So what I need to do is figure out what to do with the supply and return lines that went to the cylinder in order to run the tractor without risk of damaging the pump or something else. Is there a way to do this? I figured I could couple the two lines together and it would work but I can't find any info on this. Also worth noting, I lost a lot of hydraulic fluid when the piston cracked in half and retracted into the cylinder. I didn't realize it cracked before retracting it too far. Any of your help would be really appreciated. It's a 2022 4044m with a 400e loader. The cylinder part number is AHC13628
Thanks!

Attachments

• 20230517_163413.jpg
    20230517_163413.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 69
  • 20230517_163405.jpg
    20230517_163405.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 69
   / Running tractor without loader cylinder #2  
I would plug each line separately do not tie them together.
Then, that should be a quick detach loader. Carefully remove the loader from the tractor which is then completely usable.
You could take the cylinder to a machine shop and have the piston rod welded back together.
Just guessing that you were back blading with your bucket when this happened.

/ Running tractor without loader cylinder #3