The new mess. Exmark Laser HP 23hp with weak hydraulic drive.

/ The new mess. Exmark Laser HP 23hp with weak hydraulic drive. #1  

Rock Crawler

Veteran Member
Tractor
2021 Kubota L3560 HSTC, 2011 Craftsman Excellerator GT (680hrs), 2018 Husqvarna TS354XD, 2017 Husqvarna HU800AWD, 2019 Kawasaki Mule Pro DX (Yanmar)
I just picked up a few to good home Exmark Laser HD 23HP Kawasaki with 48" fab deck and has 740 hours on it. It has Hydro Gear 103-1942 hydraulic pumps and there are 2 hydraulic wheel motors. I'm new to screwing with zero turns and hydraulics, but here is what's going on.... from what I see, 700 hours is nothing on this commercial piece. He says that he paid $8500 for it around 12 years back. So it isn't a junk consumer one.

You start it and it runs and mows 100%. Life is great for around 15-20 minutes, and then you'll notice it slowing down and not pushing up slopes. By 25-30 minutes, it's done.

Let it cool off and it will repeat.
He chained hydraulic filters and got no change. He used OEM filters and also gave me another spare set of 2 hydraulic filters.

How can I test and verify motors vs pumps? Pumps are $1200-$1500 each while the wheel motors are around $400 each. He says that the left wheel gets weaker faster, but both eventually die out.
IMG_20231015_083705.jpg

/ The new mess. Exmark Laser HP 23hp with weak hydraulic drive. #2  
Probably going to have to test hydraulic pressure to see if it's the pump or motor. I'd guess that's specific test equipment at a dealer.

/ The new mess. Exmark Laser HP 23hp with weak hydraulic drive. #3