Tractor rookie with a 580ck

/ Tractor rookie with a 580ck #1  

Trippy1313

Bronze Member
Tractor
Case 580ck
So... I have my other post in the hydraulic section, not sure if it fits better here.

https://www.tractorbynet.com/forums/hydraulics/430136-580ck-draft-o-matic-help.html

But I'm looking at my tractor (70 580ck), and the not very clear service manual I have, and it has me wondering... where does the fluid for the draft-o-matic pump come from? Where do I fill it?

I see the pump picks it up from the "torque tube" which appears to just be the section between the engine and the tranny? So is there a fill port for that? I don't see where it connects the fluid from the frame, so does it have it's own separate fluid or am I just blind. I've been blind before, and I am new to tractors, this is my first. But I'm not afraid to tear it apart if needed, I just dont want to unnecessarily.

/ Tractor rookie with a 580ck #2  
Open this link to Case Construction, in the exploded view, look for part #60, that is the fill plug. The torque tube is the reservoir. It seems on my old 310B, there was a dipstick attached to that fill cap. But, it doesn't show it on this one. Hydraulic pump and adapter, standard clutch: | Case CE | MyCNHi US Store