Water pump replacement.

/ Water pump replacement. #1  

HCJtractor

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota M6800, Massey Ferguson 240
My radiator on my M6800 needs replacement. Now that I’ve disassembled everything, I’m going to replace the water pump, thermostat and hoses and belt. I’m not a mechanic so are there any tips? Bought new gaskets for both the pump and thermostat. Obviously I need to clean the mating surfaces, but should I use any additional sealant? I don’t have a torque wrench so is it ok to just snug everything up evenly? There’s an O ring on the back half of the pump, but I believe I’m only replacing the front half, so maybe the back half won’t be disturbed. I haven’t gotten my pump yet so I’m just assuming. Any thing else I need to do or be cautious about?
How about belt tension? And after reassembly, I assume I just fill the radiator with antifreeze and water and run it to circulate the mix. Any bleeding of air required? Obviously, I’m a rookie mechanic. Thanks.

/ Water pump replacement. #2  
Get yourself a tube of 3 Bond from a Kubota dealer, it's good stuff, I use it on many different sealing applications. Hopefully you bought a Kubota OEM pump and not a Flea Bay Chinese knockoff, there have been numerous reports of the knock off pumps eating into the back cover and that can be very expensive to repair. No bleeding required, just fill it with a 50-50 mixture of conventional ethylene glycol or 50-50 pre mix. Kubota don't recommend extended life and all Kubota engines are dry linered anyway, so no need for extended life (global) antifreeze..

3 Bond makes RTV seem like masking tape.

/ Water pump replacement.
Ouch. I did buy a cheaper knockoff. Haven’t received it yet. Since my radiator was $1,000, I was trying to economize. And maybe my old water pump was still good? It didn’t leak and feels smooth. Should I just just not replace it? I haven’t removed it yet. Or should I remove it and inspect it? How do I know if it’s bad ?