Wire feed welder

/ Wire feed welder #1  

MoArk Willy

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota B2320
I bought a small DC arc welder last fall. I am very happy with it. I am just a hobbyist with a small shop and mostly use it to fabricate small items and fix the bigger ones.
I. have thought of getting a small wire feed welder but I'm not sure if I will use or need it. Should I decide to do so, should I opt for a MIG welder or is a FLUX wire all that I should consider?
I'm just wondering what the rest of you have done or bought for your situation.

Thanks for any input you can give me.

/ Wire feed welder #2  
Mig has more options and is the “industry standard”. Wire feed is a cheaper option- like $100 on amazon cheap......I bought my nephews the amazon welder as a gift and it seems to work OK- not great but OK.

For me, I’d spring for the MIG. A 175+ amp machine can weld about anything with enough passes. You should watch for a used machine- they pop up regularly

/ Wire feed welder #3  
I would get one with shielding gas. You can always put in a roll of flux core if needed for welding outdoors or steel that's not spotless. I also think a 175 or more amps on 220V is better. Watch Craigslist if you would consider used and try before you buy to make sure it works.

/ Wire feed welder #4  
I would get one with shielding gas. You can always put in a roll of flux core if needed for welding outdoors or steel that's not spotless. I also think a 175 or more amps on 220V is better. Watch Craigslist if you would consider used and try before you buy to make sure it works.

Just make sure it's compatible with flux core, which often runs with opposite polarity from MIG. I have an HF 180 amp 220 gas/flux combo, it's been great so far after three years. I've yet to hook gas to it!

/ Wire feed welder #5  
I would rather have one really good welder than two cheap ones, and I welded for many years with stick welders before I ever touched a mig machine.

/ Wire feed welder #6