Kubota mx5200

/ Kubota mx5200 #1  

Mikejeakins

Gold Member
Tractor
Hustler super Z
I've been looking at the mx 5200. could any one give me some feed back on the pro's and cons of this tractor? I will be using this tractor with a front end loader and a skidding winch for working in the woods.

/ Kubota mx5200 #2  
First off welcome to tbn! I just got a mx 5200 for that same purpose. I have a fransfard winch (7600 lbs pulling force) and so far works great. I have only 5 hours on tractor so far and I am really liking it. I have a few pictures here I posted, look for thread "First firewood hitch with mx 5200" in the kubota owning operating forum. I will update you on what I learn as I use the tractor more. I have been doing 400 + face cord commercially for the past 6 years and I expect the larger size of the mx series to really help.

/ Kubota mx5200 #3  
Here are some pictures of what I skidded out. 1 large maple, about 50 ft long, 2 smaller beech, between 40 and 50 ft long. I guess about 1.5 face cord and total weight skidded out around 3000lbs to 3500lbs. Tractor pulled them pretty well. I did get hung up going up a small hill in the trail that had a sharp downhill just afterwards. In other words it high centered over a large hump in the road and the tractor spun out. I simply dropped the large maple log and drove ahead past the hump, and then winched the maple log back to the tractor. Everything else went great.

Attachments

• 20150404_165448.jpg
    20150404_165448.jpg
    678.5 KB · Views: 1,283
  • 20150404_165327.jpg
    20150404_165327.jpg
    285.6 KB · Views: 2,508
  • 20150404_165305.jpg
    20150404_165305.jpg
    766.8 KB · Views: 1,605
   / Kubota mx5200
That is what I'm shooting for. to grow my firewood business. I'm small Potatoes.

/ Kubota mx5200 #5