New (to me!) ford 3000, runs great, charging issue?

/ New (to me!) ford 3000, runs great, charging issue? #1  

CrowbarRanch

Tractor
Ford 3000 diesel
Hey there!

I picked up a new to me 73 ford 3000 diesel that has been well taken care of and in great shape. Up here in Montana it's been cold (32 down to -20) so I'm mostly using it to plow snow. I'm a TOTAL newbie when it comes to tractors, despite admiring them from a distance for years and years. My wife and I have started our own little homestead out here on 10 Acres, and I'm using Henry (his name) primarily for snow removal these days to clear our 1 mile road. I love every minute of it!

But first an issue. My battery wouldn't crank the engine once or twice without a jump from my truck, so I picked up a new battery from Napa (wow! Huge and expensive!). I figure the cold snap did it in, it was 2 years old. The engine would crank, sometimes slowly, but I always plugged it in (block and radiator heaters) a good long time before I went to start it. New battery, everything is fine. Except today, after driving it for probably 5 hours on and off with the lights on, I hop off and my boy wants a ride. So I boot up, climb on, and he baaaaarely turns just once, then is dead.

He's on a charger now, but I wonder what is wrong? Bad generator? Think my first battery wasn't shot after all?

I'd love if some people could help me diagnose the issue, but explain like I'm 5. I'm not, but I'm new to tractors. :)

Thanks all!

/ New (to me!) ford 3000, runs great, charging issue? #2  
Ok so if you want to do a real simple test just hold a metal object like a screwdriver onto the back of the alternator or generator bearing while the engine is running. If there is some magnetic force holding the screwdriver onto the back of the bearing then there is some charging going on. The more magnetic force the more charging. Now that is real simple but it doesn't give definitive answers other than the charging system is putting something out.