Sidehills with a cab vs without

Status
Not open for further replies.
   / Sidehills with a cab vs without #1  

troverman

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota MX6000 Cab
I am an experienced tractor operator and I use my machines to mow 3/1 slope which I mow on the sidehill and not up and down. This is a capped landfill with distinct tiers and berms so mowing up and down is simply not practical. I've been performing this job for 4 years now and not had an incident. I use a 2002 Kubota L4310 and a 2013 Kubota B2920 for mowing. Both tractors are running flail mowers (6' and 4', respectively) behind them. Both have loaded rear tires; the B-series has 2" wheel spacers on the rear.

After a few years of breathing in dust, pollen, and grass clippings I'm thinking I'd like to get a cab tractor. Specifically, a Kubota Grand L 60 series machine. The idea of filtered, cooled air is very appealing.

My question is regarding the stability difference of a tractor with a cab. I believe the old L4310 has the same size tires as the L60 series. However, I'm assuming the added weight and height of the cab would make the tractor more top-heavy and less stable on a side hill? How much of a difference would there be?

Thanks in advance.

/ Sidehills with a cab vs without #2  
The 3:1 slope is aggressive. Those slopes make me nervous even without the cab.

I don't have a direct apples to apples comparison, but we use my 770 on slopes quite a bit. It has unloaded turfs with a homemade cab that is really heavy. But it has gone on its side a least once that I know of, on slopes that aren't quite as steep. Loading the turfs and wheel spacers are on the list of projects.

The cabs will add quite a bit of weight, raising the COG. I wonder if it would be offset with 2 or 3" wheel spacers? i think if you can live with a wider track, you may be OK, but would want a lot of verification here and with your dealer before purchase.

/ Sidehills with a cab vs without #3