Tractors and wood! Show your pics

/ Tractors and wood! Show your pics #17,581  
Foot start for a cold saw (mine takes 5-8 pulls especially if I ran the tank dry previously). Drop start when it's warm or hot, its just so much easier.

/ Tractors and wood! Show your pics #17,582  
I noticed in the BC Faller training video for leaners the first guy drop started w/ left hand on top handle, pulled w/ the right hand and the second guy, with the bigger saw, laid the saw tip on a log and held the pistol grip w/ his right, pulled with the left. Different strokes for different training pro folks.

gg

Last edited:
   / Tractors and wood! Show your pics #17,585  
Dropping trees is an inherently dangerous thing. I've been doing it for 56 years and can be killed tomorrow.
There are all kinds of people on a forum and this one is no exception.
"Explanation" is one kind of communication but for that person who has been at this for two or three years, I feel that type of communication is insufficient and should be accompanied by a video or live demo.
If you compound this with unfamiliar nomenclature, I think it has potential to add to the problem.
I've seen 2 men killed trying to act "manly" as it has to do with logging.
I'm just trying to be cautious because we don't always know who is picking up a chainsaw or what their learning style encompasses.

I agree. I always have someone with me id the tree is any size at all, and one of my my friends up here used to cut trees in the winter (MANY years ago). He always insists on doing the cutting himself, LOL.

Have to do some more this Spring. Getting short of firewood anyways.

/ Tractors and wood! Show your pics #17,586  
I've got a few hundred trees cut down and bucked up...so far, no issues...although always wanting to improve.

So, I got sucked into a blackhole.

It was the BC Fallers video series...I couldn't stop watching...although I tried!

The size of those Western trees...mesmerizing.