Any suggestions

/ Any suggestions #1  

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota B6100E Kubota L 2501 Kubota T1460
About 10 thousand dollars plus to install the metal roof on the garage, there is no doubt in my mind that I can do the work myself but I am scared to get up there because of the 8.12 pitch.
I’ve tried, can get my foot off the ladder but even with the safety rope I can’t seem to get the nerve.
It’s about 19 ft to the peak and 12 ft walls.
I know it’s a 4 day job for my inexperienced hands.
The home will not be an issue, I’ve had plenty of experience climbing roofs and have replaced many of them but all asphalt shingle or wood shingle.
I’m determined to do it as cheap as possible ( I’m not cutting corners on materials) because we’re paying out of pocket for everything and have only so much set aside and the savings of doing it myself will pay for a trade that I won’t touch.
Any suggestions?

Attachments

• 3F878859-FA3D-4886-B693-D874A4BBDD21.jpeg
    3F878859-FA3D-4886-B693-D874A4BBDD21.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 178
   / Any suggestions #2  
If it were me, I'd take some 2x4's and either nail them horizontally to the roof to act as "safety stairs", or get the metal straps that roofers use to affix to the roof and then put the 2x4's on the metal strapping (sorry I forget the name of the strapping). A lumber yard would have them.

Place them every 3-4' apart, or wherever you're comfortable and go from there.

Are you planning on one metal sheet to cover the entire amount of fall, or will you be over lapping 2 sheets to make a run from the ridge to the eave? (1 piece of metal roofing for the entire fall will be almost impossible for one guy to manipulate, place and screw)

FWIW, once you get the first sheet (row) on, the rest will be easier if you have good rubber soled shoes. (along with safety harness of course). Just my 2¢

/ Any suggestions