Box Blade Question

/ Box Blade Question #1  

L3130

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L3130
Can someone explain how the a box blade works and what it is used for? I'm new to tractors and need to know weather to get a rear blade or box blade. I will be smoothing out a MX track that has ruts in some areas. What are the advantages of both? Thanks for the help to a newbie.....

/ Box Blade Question #2  
I would go with the box blade for sure. I live up a 2.5 mile dirt road and I always use mine to leval out/smooth out the road. Not to mention if you have some hardpack you can lower the scarifiers and dig that up as well and then smooth it out. . A simple rear blade will not be able to do that.

I would have to say a box blade will do everything a rear blade can do and then alot of things that the rear blade can not do.

/ Box Blade Question #3  
Although both a rear blade and a box blade can be used for leveling ground, there is a big difference in how they do it.

They both excel at certain tasks, but can be awful for other tasks. For instance, a rear blade does a reasonable job with snow -- mostly backward, but for snows up to 6 or 8 inches, it is usable in the forward position. A box blade isn't good for more than just a few inches of snow.

A rear blade just pulls dirt. On most tractors, it can be angled and positioned a lot differently than a box blade. Much of the dirt that is accumulated in front of the blade slips past one end or the other of the blade. Certainly some dirt slips under the low spots of the blade.

A box blade is just that. It is a box with grader blades. One grader blade faces forward. It scrapes. The other blade faces backward. It is used for smoothing or filling if you are pushing backward. Very little dirt escapes from either side, so a lot more is available for filling pot holes and ruts.