Chains, which style?

/ Chains, which style? #1  

cmyoung2

Gold Member
Tractor
BCS 850, Kubota BX2230 w/FEL, mid mount mower, 41" tiller Kubota L3600 w/4-1FEL, Farmi winch
OK, BX 2230 with loader, flail mower. Turf tires. Need more traction for steep slopes, going up and down, not across. looking at either the ladder style ir the diamond/H style. Have no idea which is better. Will probably only be used for bush hogging and maybe some snow moving, so they will be put on only when needed.
Suggestions? Comments?

/ Chains, which style? #2  
OK, BX 2230 with loader, flail mower. Turf tires. Need more traction for steep slopes, going up and down, not across. looking at either the ladder style ir the diamond/H style. Have no idea which is better. Will probably only be used for bush hogging and maybe some snow moving, so they will be put on only when needed.
Suggestions? Comments?

I've been running the V-Bars summer and winter for over 15 years.

tractor-tire chains-tractor chains

They work on ice, and don't tear up the lawn .

I've got two sets for the Bolens rears, With both on "overlapping" Winter traction is great. ;-)

/ Chains, which style? #3  
Suggestions? Comments?

Go to tirechains.com and read the recommendations on the website. The advantages/disadvantages of all types are thoroughly discussed.

SDT

/ Chains, which style? #4  
You also want to ensure that there is enough clearance between your tires and fenders for whatever style that you get. My 3301 barely has enough clearance at the bottom of the fender for my modified ladder chains.

/ Chains, which style? #5  
   / Chains, which style? #6  
Here's the link to their table that compares different styles/types of chains in different conditions:
Tractor Tire Chains-Comparison-Application

Going by that web site there diamond studded are the only ones to consider;
These Aquiline studded are the style that I prefer and would recommend;
Aquiline Tire Chains