confused about log splitters

/ confused about log splitters #1  

Deepdrop

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kioti CX2510 (2021)
I have a 2020 CX2510 and have been cutting down some trees and I'm thinking that a log splitter would be great to have. I initially thought it would be a no-brainer that I could buy one to use on my tractor. I've been reading for the last few hours and am utterly confused.
I don't split a lot of wood. I'm not in a hurry. Some of the trees are large diameter, maybe 20 inches.
I would really prefer to not buy a standalone splitter with its own engine, just because I really don't want another engine to maintain (unless there are just really really good arguments for going this route).

I do not understand the pros and cons of a 3 point vs. a PTO driven splitter.

I have a 3rd function valve that I use to run my grapple. I don't know if that would make a difference. I'm very new to tractors. This is my first one and I'm learning as I go, so please forgive my ignorance on this. I tried searching the forum but didn't find anything that seemed helpful.

I'd be very grateful if anyone can explain pros/cons of the options. Thanks very much.

/ confused about log splitters #2  
I found a home-made 3pt splitter last year, for just 200 bucks, so I bought it quick. It runs off my rear remotes. It works well enough, but I think I'd prefer a standalone splitter. Here's my reasons:

1 - Using the rear remotes, the cylinder travel is a bit slow. Even at 2500rpm, I wish it was a little quicker.
2 - It adds a lot of hours to the tractor. I'd rather put hours on a cheaper standalone machine than on my expensive tractor engine.
3 - Because it's on the rear of the tractor, I can't use the loader to help move the wood around before and after splitting it (not as easily anyway)

I have no experience using a PTO driven splitter. I would suspect your 3rd function does not have enough flow to run a splitter with good results. It's going to be very slow.