Drill bits for metal work.

/ Drill bits for metal work. #1  

N80

Tractor
Kubota L4400 4wd w/LA 703 FEL
I've been doing more projects lately requiring drilling in metal. For instance, homemade winch mount for my car/tractor trailer. Drilling through some fairly hard and thick stuff. Some of the cheap multipurpose bits I have won't last long enough to drill one hole.

To make things worse, I know little to nothing about drill bits.

I do various backyard/basement/driveway DIY jobs and fabrication projects. I don't mind paying for decent tools that match the sort of jobs I want to do. But, I'm also not a professional and do not need tools/equipment that has to be perfect 24/7.

So I guess my question is what do I need to look for in metal drilling bits, usually 1" and down? What are good brand names I need to look for. My next question is, is it better to buy high end stuff that will last longer or cheap stuff that I throw away? All drill bits will get dull at some point. Third question, is a bit sharpener worth the money/time/effort.

Thanks for any input here.

/ Drill bits for metal work. #2  
Have you considered step drills for large holes, I hear they make life a lot easier.
I have bought tool manufacturers bits but I'm pretty sure they don't make them eg DeWalt-Hitachi etc.
We use Sutton but I think it is a local product so not much use to you.
Cheap stuff generally costs more so I bite the bullet and part with the cash although I did buy a cheap belt sander for a one of job 20 years ago, it is still in my shed somewhere.

/ Drill bits for metal work. #3  
For drilling metal be sure to use a cutting fluid. Will make your drill bits last longer and cut cleaner. Also consider the grind angle and for large sizes a split point.

A sharpener is dependent on your drill volume and sizes. More drilling and larger sizes make a sharpener easily justified.

/ Drill bits for metal work. #4