Hearing Aid Question...

/ Hearing Aid Question... #1  

Panik

Gold Member
NW Ga - somewhere near that time zone thingy
Tractor
Kubota bx2360
Was reading posts this morning over coffee and came across one that got me to thinking about a topic I've been avoiding.

In addition to a number of other things, I've been a scientist for an industrial chemical remediation firm and a zookeeper. Two of the occupational hazards with those have been working around a lot of heavy equipment (dozers/loaders, shears/ram-hoes) and a rare bird/parrot breeding facility (lots of horny, defensive screaming birds). I also extensively involved in competitive shooting from roughly 9-21 years old.

Point being that I'm 47 and about 6 years ago I took a hearing test with the audiologist that shares the building with my ENT. Despite being reasonably conscientious about wearing hearing protection throughout my life my hearing is bad enough that I should be wearing a hearing aid in my left ear and could also wear one in my right ear if I wanted. I've avoided getting hear aids because I've always considered them to be cost-prohibitive and there have been other priorities - the needs of my 3 children and health costs stemming from my wife's auto-immune disorder.

With the OTC vs prescription regulatory changes for hearing devices in 2022/2023 I was wondering if anyone had a sense of the current costs for hearing aids?.... and or suggestions for more budgets minded hearing devices?

/ Hearing Aid Question... #2  
Mine cost me 50 bucks and that included everything and they are high quality but then I have Federal Employees BC/BS and it paid for everything but that initial exam which I did in the hospital audio lab. Mine are Phonax and come with a cell phone AP that I can set to deliver the sensitivity I require. When I got them, I had my choice between 4 different ones. I took the median set. Quite happy with them actually but when I shoot (often), I wear Walkers Game Ears.