How do you cut metal for finished projects?

/ How do you cut metal for finished projects? #1  

Ted Summey

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota MX5100F IH McCormick Farmall 140, Massey Ferguson 135
I am interested in knowing what tools and methods you use for cutting metal for your fabrication projects? I have a 14" abrasive cut off saw, grinders, a portable reciprocating saw and an OA torch. What else do I need? I can weld ok but really struggle with cutting parts.

Is a plasma cutter the best next cutting tool or a bandsaw?

/ How do you cut metal for finished projects? #2  
I have used a vertical metal band saw at work. cut off wheels in a 41/2" grinder and a reciprocating saw.

/ How do you cut metal for finished projects? #3  
My background is 35+ years of welding and fabricating including many years working as foreman of a fabrication/erection company. Now I just have a home hobby shop. The tool I use depends on the material and what I intend to do with it. I started with only a reciprocating saw. It did everything I needed but was slow and not the most accurate since there was nothing to guide it except my hands. It still has a place and gets used often. Then I added a O/A torch. Much faster and can be more accurate in steady hands (which when younger I used to have but not so much now) but of course it has limits on the material it will cut and the cut most times must be ground smooth. The next I added to my shop was a cut off chop saw. Works fast and leaves a clean and pretty accurate cut. Really makes a mess though with grinding wheel and metal dust. A plasma cutter came next, really fine cut capability and can be very accurate in steady hands (see my O/A comment above) with the ability to cut anything that will conduct electricity. My portable hand bandsaw is similar to the reciprocating saw in it's ability and limitations. I also have a table band saw, it gives really accurate cuts, relatively fast, leaves very little mess and very little clean up of the cut