Hydraulics overflow and a slow dump

/ Hydraulics overflow and a slow dump #1  

texasjohn

Tractor
Kubota Grand L5030HSTC
Dump trailer hydraulics overflow and are slow.. .I wonder why?:confused:

OK.. more info...The facts are:

It's a 20 foot gooseneck PJ dump, I purchased it used, it's about 2 years old, was used to do Katrina cleanup. Cylinder is double acting... there is a hose that goes to each end of the cylinder.

When I bought it, I couldn't raise it all the way up because battery was low... but it did start and begin to move the dump bed up with no apparent difficulty.

I got it home, charged the battery, took a long time to charge... but it's a 1100 CCA CAT battery..12 V...I mean, it's BIG. It took a full charge.

Empty, I raised the bed and noticed it was kinda slow, but I'm not experienced and thus didn't know if this was the proper speed or not.. it went up at the same rate UNTIL the sound changed... fluid tank was empty.

Before starting, I had checked the tank... it was low, thus I put in about 2 quarts. I estimate the total capacity is one gallon. However, I had left about 1/2 inch air space (tank lays on its side) from liquid to top of tank. The fill plug is on the very top of the tank.

So, when it went dry, I figured that it needed to be completely filled up and added more fluid... maybe half a quart... ran dump up farther up and tank ran near dry again. Repeated this at least once more till dump was at maximum vertical extension. There was maybe .5 inch or less of fluid remaining in the tank at this point.