Lubricate MFWD Steering King Pins (5M)

/ Lubricate MFWD Steering King Pins (5M) #1  

MorningViewStables

Silver Member
Tractor
NA
Hi folks,

Newbie here to TractorByNet, but I have to give a shout out to AKFish and LARRYINPARKS as I followed a lot of their posts prior to purchase of my new tractor. I have a 2013 5075M and need some clarification about maintenance. The maintenance schedule references at 50 hrs to Lubricate MFWD Steering King Pins however, I cannot find the procedure in the maintenance manual. I asked the dealer service manager and he is confused also as the King Pin Zerk appear to be hidden under plates bolted above and below the axle. Anyone know the procedure or is it intended to be a dealer service requirement?

/ Lubricate MFWD Steering King Pins (5M) #2  
Hi folks,

Newbie here to TractorByNet, but I have to give a shout out to AKFish and LARRYINPARKS as I followed a lot of their posts prior to purchase of my new tractor. I have a 2013 5075M and need some clarification about maintenance. The maintenance schedule references at 50 hrs to Lubricate MFWD Steering King Pins however, I cannot find the procedure in the maintenance manual. I asked the dealer service manager and he is confused also as the King Pin Zerk appear to be hidden under plates bolted above and below the axle. Anyone know the procedure or is it intended to be a dealer service requirement?

Hmm... I thought I'd looked the maintenance guide over pretty good. Didn't remember anything about greasing the king-pins? So, I looked again... nothing about king-pins for MFWD tractors. You are supposed to grease the front wheel spindles and front axle pivot on 2WD tractors.

And, grease the front axle trunnion - front and rear grease zerks - on the MFWD tractors.

The king-pins on my 5075M don't have grease zerks or a cap on top of the zerks. There's a white nylon bushing that's visible on the top of the axle housing above the king-pin - but, that's it.